Fry On Friday: “Dreams,” May 26, 2017

               I don’t know why I ever get into a vehicle in my dreams. Because no vehicle in my dreams has ever, ever had brakes that function.  Every ride turns into a harrowing experience.  So why don’t I just say, “No thanks, I’ll walk.”  If I had to maintain insurance coverage for my “dream cars”, the premiums would be enormous by now. 

            The Bible is full of dreamers:  Jacob, Gideon, Solomon, Nebuchadnezzar, Joseph of the Old and New Testaments.  Old Testament Joseph built a career interpreting dreams; New Testament Joseph merely got married, then embarked on international travel.  Even characters with minor supporting parts had dreams:  Abimelech, Laban, Pharaoh’s baker and cupbearer.  Straight up messages from God, these dreams.  The Bible says so:   “Hear my words: When there are prophets among you, I the Lord make myself known to them in visions; I speak to them in dreams.”  (Numbers 12:6) 

            If my dreams convey messages, I don’t think they’re from God.  If they are, then God must think I didn’t finish the third grade.    I’m not clueless:  when I dream of playing racquetball, the court is always filled with furniture.  I get it—my life is too cluttered.  Duh.  When I dream that I’m leading worship in my underwear,  I take it as a reminder to always get dressed before leaving for church on Sunday.  My dreams don’t appear to require God-level input.

             I don’t pray for God to guard me from the evils that lurk in the dark.  “If I should die before I wake” doesn’t seem to be a nightly threat to me.  I’m not saying God skips the night shift regarding me.  When I wake in the morning just before the alarm goes off, having had a good night’s sleep, that sleep feels like a gift from God.  I certainly didn’t earn it; it was not the result of any concerted effort to rest nor definitely not a clear conscience about the day before.  It was pure gift, total grace.  Besides, I’m a little grateful that God doesn’t take me on as a 24-hour round-the-clock project.  “Give it a rest, Fry,” is good enough for me.
            If I missed whatever messages God sent me via my dreams, I wouldn’t be the first to sleep through a good sermon. 


Dr. Dave Fry is the senior and founding pastor of Pleasant Hill Presbyterian Church in Duluth, Georgia, which was started in 1985. Send comments to “Fry on Friday” at dave@pleasanthillpc.org.

