Clerk’s Corner: Transition Team Report, August 2017

Dear Congregation,

The leadership of Pleasant Hill Presbyterian Church continues to move us toward that day when we will have to say goodbye to Dave Fry, and welcome a new phase in the life of the church.

Earlier this year, the PHPC Nominating Committee (NC) was set up (as it is annually) to make recommendations to the congregation for members to serve on Session. The NC includes Cathy Hoffman, Sherre Kahrs, Mary Don King, Angie O’Farrell, and Diane Warren.  (It originally also included Bernie Kida, but he had to drop off because of other commitments.)

Normally, the NC’s work would be done in the Spring after the new elders are elected, ordained and installed. However, because of the head of staff transition, the NC has been tasked this year with two more responsibilities:

1. Recommend members to the Session who would serve on the Interim Pastor Nominating Committee (IPNC) who will begin a search for an Interim Head of Staff whose tenure is expected to begin shortly after Dave’s retirement in mid-November.

2. Recommend members to the congregation who would serve on the Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC). This action would occur after Dave’s retirement. And the PNC would then begin their process of finding a permanent Head of Staff at the end of 2017/early 2018.

On July 23, the Session met to receive and consider a recommendation from the NC to elect the IPNC (see task #1). The NC carefully considered possible nominees to include: both gender and age balance; one member of Session; and a member of the church’s Personnel Committee.  The NC also considered who may be possible members of the Pastor Nominating Committee for when that time comes.  Even though it is not prohibited that someone sit on both the IPNC and PNC, it is strongly preferred that they not, so that more members of the congregation are directly involved in the transition process.

The NC presented a motion that the following members of PHPC (all who accepted the invitation) be elected by the Session to serve on the Interim Pastor Nominating Committee (IPNC):

Laura Freese
Matt Hoffman
Claire Keyser
Patrick O’Farrell
Winn Story
Mary Winkeljohn

This motion was put to a vote and passed unanimously by Session.

So, the IPNC is now empowered to start looking for Interim Head of Staff candidates and will make a recommendation to Session in the coming months.  I will continue to keep you informed on their progress.

Continue to keep the leadership, the NC and IPNC and church in your prayers.
David Ashley, Clerk of Session,
Pleasant Hill Presbyterian Church